Friday, May 27, 2016

Three in a row at the Hoosier Hundred

The Hoosier Hundred contested on the Indiana State Fairgrounds mile track since 1953 is a test for car and driver, and while there are many great names among the winners only a select few have won the great race three times in a row. The great Jimmy Bryan did it - he won three Hoosier Hundred race between 1954 to 1957. Al Unser Senior captured three in a row from 1970 to 1973. The AJ Foyt has won the race six times but only back-to back three times.

Thursday night May 26, Kody Swanson of Kingburg California matched the record of Bryan and Unser when he won his third consecutive Hoosier Hundred crown in his typical fashion. Bowes Seal Fast pole-winner Brady Bacon led early but then gave way to Jerry Coons Junior, with Swanson and Bryan Clauson lurking in the top five. Shane Cottle charged through the field to take the lead on lap 58.

With 35 laps to go the red flag was displayed after veteran Russ Gamester flipped his family-owned machine on the back straightaway. When racing resumed, Swanson forced his way past Cottle on lap 67 and was never headed, though Cottle made several late race charges, to take the victory in the 62nd annual Hoosier Hundred.

Swanson was trailed to the checkered flag by Cottle, Coons, Clauson and Chris Windom in fifth. Windom took over the controls of the #14 machine after its scheduled driver Brian Tyler didn’t make it the Fairgrounds from qualifying for the Little 500 in Anderson, and the engine in Windom’s scheduled car broke a rocker arm during warmups.  
photo by the author

Tonight is the USAC Silver Crown cars return to action at Lucas Oil Raceway for the ‘Carb Night Classic”

No comments:

Post a Comment